Scissor Sisters

SCN_05-10-2012_EGN_10_Scissor Sisters April2010_fct1024x630x91_t460A long time ago in the year 2011, I was bored. To cure this I went on iTunes and looked at the “Listeners Also Bought” section of some of my favorite artists. In this case, I was viewing MIKA’s album Life in Cartoon Motion. I came across the album Ta-Dah and gave it a shot. As most listeners do, I listened to the most popular tracks and then the ones with interesting titles. “I Don’t Feel Like Dancin” welcomed me to the wacky world of Scissor Sisters. Despite its title, I did feel like dancing when I heard it.

Ta-Dah remains my favorite Scissors Sisters album. It’s a genre masher that works. You’ve got “I Can’t Decide” which is has a honky tonk feel and at the other end of the spectrum you’ve what could easily pass as a song from the 70s (disco isn’t dead!) with “Lights.” One of my favorite little flares of the album is a worldly guitar accent added during the second verse of “Might Tell You Tonight” starting at 1:12. It gives the song an additional, unexpected flavor. It has a great pop chorus but the verses are what truly make the song shine.

Since it’s night time as I write this, I’m going to end it with “Night Work,” the second most-danceable song of the Scissor Sisters catalog. Oh, how work never ends…”Night work/gotta do the night work/weekday 9 to 5 shift is over “

This entry was posted in HS-Junior and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment