David Mead

SongAlbumImage-148216-100210-DM_coverWorld of a King” provided the music for the end credits of The Search for John Gissing. If you like good music, stupid dancing, and Alan Rickman, then watch. Aside from loving the credits as a whole, I enjoyed the song. There’s a funky little synth bit at 1:03 that sounds great and aids in the key transition beautifully. For some reason, Mead’s first album The Luxury of Time is not for sale on iTunes. To circumvent this problem I ordered the album on Amazon. Surprisingly, I didn’t enjoy the album as much as I thought I would based on the one song I liked. Instead, I found enjoyment in Mead’s other songs.

Dudes is a great album. Despite being categorized as singer/songwriter, it’s actually very pop based. “King of the Crosswords” has an exuberant energy that’s hard to dampen. With its sax and extremely sharp lyrics, I can’t help but bop around my head in whatever setting I’m in. I love amping up in the car to this song. “I Can’t Wait.” I sort of wish this song was playing every morning as I was waking up so that I’d be more motivated to get out of bed. The “come on, you never know’s” are true because really, you don’t know what each day holds, so you should be more excited to get up instead of dreading leaving your cocoon of warmth.

Nashville” is a great road song. And a great thinking song. Really, it’s a great anything song. And it’s a good song to leave off on.

This entry was posted in HS-Sophomore and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment