Prologue – The Milk Carton Kids

PrologueI discovered The Milk Carton Kids when I was browsing The Ark’s calendar. Of course they were playing 5 days after I was set to leave Michigan, that’s just my luck. After hearing a few songs I instantly fell for their folkiness, coupled with the fact that I’m a sucker for any song that references Michigan. Their minimalist approach is refreshing. Just two guys and two guitars making magnificent music.

I Still Want a Little More” is a rollicking ride. There’s some masterful guitar work done in this song with all of the little fills and accents. Bravo to them. Shift 180º to “Stealing Romance” which is a song that I want to slow dance to. Not only cause it’s in 3/4 time, but also because it’s beautiful. It’s romantic in a sad way. “I get away stealing romance/from those who have left it behind/I’ll be the step in your slow dance” isn’t exactly happy, but it’s hopeful. Then there’s “New York” and “Michigan” – the two location songs. The former is a fast, unapologetic song about leaving. The latter is a slower, contemplative song about heartbreak and (you guessed it) leaving.

As of now (and I didn’t know this until today) you can download Prologue and their first album, Retrospect, for free on themilkcartonkids.com. Look on the right side of the page. Take advantage of free music when it’s being given away for free by the artists themselves!

This entry was posted in C-Freshman and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment