The Ark Appreciation

9212cc0394e631dcae698f90a07c3e68The Ark is one of those magical venues. It’s a good thing that it’s not a standing room only venue because it sweeps you off of your feet. I’m love that they have the volunteer program because there are so many shows that I want to see but don’t have the funds for. Since last November I’ve volunteered at a few shows a month and been exposed to some great music while also supporting a great organization.

My first Ark experience was at the tail end of Welcome Week when I convinced a couple of my newfound friends to take the trek to Main Street with me for the open stage. We enjoyed, we laughed, we left early to make the long trek back to North Campus. But I remember have expectations and having them proven wrong. I didn’t know the actual listening room was on the second floor, but now I can’t imagine it the entire venue being on one floor. Open stages are cool and all, but my first real concert there was Theo Katzman. After that, I knew I wanted to volunteer there and get to see many more great shows.

IMG_8582

Joey Dosik, September 2013 – The Ark

I promptly emailed about volunteering, had my orientation the last Saturday in October, and then volunteered at my first show the following Friday. I remember it distinctly. The artist was Matt Wertz. As the new kid, I didn’t know what to do so I ushered. It was cool to be in the center of the action and feel the excitement before, during, and after the show. Being the ticket taker’s also fun because it’s the same excitement, but more interaction with people.

Because I get to see the shows for free in exchange for volunteering my time, I decided to implement my own system wherein I buy the artist’s CD instead of paying for a traditional ticket. It’s worked out really well because I get to support the artist, the Ark, and save money. It’s a win-win-win.

This entry was posted in College, Michigan Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Ark Appreciation

  1. Pingback: Spencer Michaud | My Musical Milestones

Leave a comment