Tally Hall

Tie Guys

Tie Guys

I was planning on Theo Katzman being my first post on local Ann Arbor music, but I started listening to Tally Hall today and have to share my excitement. I’m lucky enough to work at a place where they allow you to listen to music while you work, if you so choose. Since I sometimes work on monotonous stuff (I’m an intern, reformatting has become second nature) I try to mix up my listening selection on Spotify. Today’s selection was Tally Hall. The name Tally Hall has been thrown around since I started at Michigan last fall, and I gave them a listen a few months ago, but today it really clicked

It’s such a great mix of whimsy, new wave, pop, rock, and everything else. So far the songs that have stuck out for me are “Good Day,” “Welcome to Tally Hall,” and “Be Born” which is the most random country-ish interlude that somehow works. The album makes me feel like I’m at a carnival. You know that carnival scene from the beginning of Big? It feels like that. Adding to the carnival vibe is the boisterous “Good Day” which is made up of a bunch of distinct sections, some long some short, combined to form a fantastic song. It’s hard to pull something like that off, but I think Tally Hall does an admirable job. For some reason, the verses of “Welcome to Tally Hall” reminds me of the infamous “Rhymenocerous vs. Hiphopopotamus.” Maybe it’s the whimsical nature of the lyrics, but I love it. I also really enjoy the chorus of  “Greener” because it just rolls right off the vocal chords.

I’m gonna keep listening. You should too.

This entry was posted in C-Sophomore, Michigan Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Tally Hall

  1. Pingback: “Good Day” by Tally Hall | My Musical Milestones

Leave a comment