Vampire Weekend

Vampire Weekend (2)Vampire Weekend is the music I would expect of Columbia grads. There’s so much more than just the surface level. There’s sarcasm, wit, and references you don’t quite understand until you Google them. I love it all. I bought Vampire Weekend & Contra in winter of my freshman year of high school because one of my friends was (and still is) really into them. I didn’t listen to most of the songs, only the more popular ones. In addition, I was always aware of “A-Punk” because alphabetically it was one of the first songs on my iPod. This indifferences changed dramatically as time went on.

New Years’ Eve of my sophomore year was my first greater exposure to Vampire Weekend. The was the Christmas season where one of the car commercials used “Holiday” as the music. The commercial played over and over. It’s a great song, how could I not get addicted? So I listened to “Holiday” a bunch and then gave it a rest.

Fast forward to March 2013. With an upcoming album, VW got on my radar again. I started listening to them more – this time not just the hits. And I liked all of it (except for some of the songs on Contra). To me, Vampire Weekend (the album) sounds like college. Songs like “Campus” really drive this point home, but regardless, when I hear “M79” I also think of college. Preppiness in full force.

IMG_7027This increased interest led to increased excitement about seeing them at Coachella. I was not let down. The sun was setting n the last night of Coachella and I was sitting on a hill overlooking the entire grounds, within hearing distance of VW on the main stage. My friend left to go to the Sahara tent so I decided to get closer to the action. It was towards the end of VW’s set and they were playing “A-Punk.” I’ll always remember running down the field, dancing along the way, my path lit by the stages lights. Once I got to the main part of the crowd, everyone was just jumping and dancing. It made me so happy. They ended with “Walcott” which has grown to become one of my favorites.

packshotModern Vampires of the City came out at the perfect time for me. I was craving some good music for long summer drives and Vampire Weekend provided. It also explored the themes of youth and maturity right as I was on the borderline of becoming independent. Recently, my favorite song from this album has been “Finger Back.” Once you Google the lyrics, you realize how fantastic it is. It’s so over my head and I love it so much. The drums beat and guitar playing are fantastic and the rhythmic lyric delivery is as great. I have no idea how Ezra Koenig sings this live. Such a tongue twister.

One of my favorite VW lines is from “Diane Young“: “Live my life in self-defense/You know I love the past, ’cause I hate suspense.” The second part of that lines throws you for a loop. But like a roller coast loop. A fun loop, where at the end you’re exited because you understand its meaning. It’s intellectual exhilaration. Like knowing what an oxford comma is before listening to “Oxford Comma.” Intellectual exhilaration.

This entry was posted in Coachella 2013, HS-Freshman, HS-Senior and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment